Friday, March 30, 2012

Series Review: The Mortal Instruments, By Cassandra Clare

Series Review: The Mortal Instruments, By Cassandra Clare The Complete Set! City of Bones City of Ashes City of Glass City of Fallen Angels City of Lost Souls City of Heavenly Fire (expected publication May 2014)

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, Book #1), By Cassandra Clare Cover art
(Book Review) (Plot Summary)
The Mortal Instruments Series
By: Cassandra Clare
5 of 6 books published
Review encompasses the first 5 books.
See The Mortal Instruments Movie News

The Mortal Instruments is a young adult paranormal romance/urban fantasy, set in a colorful version of our reality where humans walk unaware of not just the vampires, werewolves, fey and warlocks, but also demons and their part-human enemies - the ShadowhuntersThe books are fast flowing with vivid characters, a lot of action, and interesting twists. 

Isn't The Mortal Instruments a Trilogy?

Series Review: City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments, Book #2), By Cassandra Clare Cover art
(Book Review) (Plot Summary)
Originally a trilogy, readers will find that the first three books (City of Bones, City of Ashes, and City of Glass) function as a complete series with just a few things left unexplained. Book four (City of Fallen Angels) delves into those loose ends while adding a number of new twists and plot points that create a second trilogy of sorts from book four through book six. So if you're not up for six books in one stretch, I recommend taking your break after book 3.

Content of Series as a whole 

This is a culmination of the various types of content seen in the first five books. Not all of this content appears in each book. Please see my individual reviews (links listed at bottom of this review) as each book for a list of what content to expect in each.

Series Review: City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments, Book #3), By Cassandra Clare Cover art
(Book Review)

  • Kissing
  • making out (kissing, touching, scratching, clothing removal, straddling in undergarments)
  • Teen girls and boys staying the night in the same bed
  • Intense and detailed make out scenes that nearly escalate to sex
  • Sex between teens (Off camera)
  • Full nudity before and after sex (Nudity not described in detail)
  • Homosexuality (ranges from knowledge of sexual preferences to physical displays of affection with individuals of the same gender - kissing, hugging, physical sensuality)
  • Implied sex between men
  • References to infidelity of a parent 
  • Theme of inappropriate romantic desires through the first three books

Series Review: City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments, Book #4), By Cassandra Clare Cover art
(Book Review)
Do to the nature of the inappropriate romantic desires/actions I can not be more specific without revealing a certain amount about the story itself. Please use the Show/hide button to reveal the spoilers if you wish to know more.


There is also a significant increase in sexual content in City of Lost Souls (Book 5).

Violence or Gruesome 

  • Fighting with fists and weapons
  • injuries
  • killing
  • references to gruesome torture/death
  • blood drinking
Most descriptions refer to blood and are not gory.

Series Review: City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments, Book #5), By Cassandra Clare Cover art
(Book Review)

  • profanity (including the taking of God's name in vain) 
  • drinking & drug use
  • the use of magic & runes
  • Consorting with demons and angels
  • mixing of demon and angel blood with humans to create other species
  • law breaking
  • stealing 


Should The Mortal Instruments be read Before or After The Infernal Devices?

The Simple Answer: You can read either first.

Although The Infernal Devices is a prequel to The Mortal Instruments, the plots and characters are not significantly interrelated. There are a couple references/cameos back and forth that fans of both series will enjoy, but nothing crucial to either plot.

Christianity and The Mortal Instruments (For my Christian Readers)

The world of The Mortal Instruments is built upon the existence of Angels and Demons, with the assumed existence of God. Demons play a critical part in the ongoing plot, Angels are seen and interacted with from time to time, but God is not credited with any role active or unseen. The Shadowhunters and other preternatural races are the product of Angel or Demon blood mixing with humans (or a demon disease). The main characters are focused on protecting the human population from demons and evil, but they have no connection to Christ, do not think of themselves as Christians, or display Christian values in various moral and sexual situations. So while The Mortal Instruments is built around certain biblical facts (with significant creative license), it is not a Christian series.

The Mortal Instruments Reading Order

  1. City of Bones (Book Review) (Plot Summary) (Movie)
  2. City of Ashes (Book Review) (Plot Summary) (Movie)
  3. City of Glass (Book Review)
  4. City of Fallen Angels (Book Review)
  5. City of Lost Souls (Book Review)
  6. City of Heavenly Fire (Expected Publication May 27, 2014)
Best Blogger Tips


  1. Wait, City Of Heavenly Fire isn't expected to be published until 2014? I think I just died.

    1. I know! When I started City of Fallen Angels, I thought it was coming out in 2013!

    2. Sarah, I'm a long time follower of your website and I think it is great. I've recently written a book, and I'd be honored if you would be willing to read it. You can read more about it at

  2. Nice Blog ! I will bookmark this blog.I recommend for everyone to read immortal instruments. Anyone can download free novel books .


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...