Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Book Review: Sixth Grave on the Edge (Charley Davidson, book 6), by Darynda Jones

Sixth Grave on the Edge (Charley Davidson, book 6)
By: Darynda Jones
ISBN: 1250045630
Add to Goodreads

Between stolen souls, supernatural foes, cold cases, and crime lords, Charley has way too much on her plate. On top of which someone is setting her up. The big question is who and for what?

Sixth Grave on the Edge has so many plots intermixed that it can get a little hard to remember them all but it never gets boring or slow. Unlike some of the earlier books where significant time was spent on each case, Charley's efforts are now so divided that investigation for each of the many cases/mysteries is limited. The over-riding personal mystery is also starting to play a much bigger part, which leads to a big last minute reveal. Fans will want to have book seven, Seventh Grave and No Body, within easy reach.

The Charley Davidson series is an adult urban fantasy with strong paranormal romance elements. Sixth Grave on the Edge includes:
  • Profanity (F word, B*tch, B*llsh*t, etc)
  • Throwing Up
  • Abuse of children by parents
  • Specific references to male private parts, Viagra, etc
  • Detailed Sex scene(s) - this includes psychic sex and sex in a public location (sucking,  orgasms, erections, oral sex, full nudity, etc)
  • Injuries (broken bones)
  • Death and a Dead body
  • Naked Ghost 
  • References to a married homosexual couple
This story also deals with/mentions angels, demons, souls being eaten and the damning of souls.

While the Charley Davidson series does deal with some biblical concepts (Heaven, Hell, God, Satan, Angels, Demons, etc) is is not and does not claim to be a Christian tale. Christian readers will find many concepts and elaborations that are different from biblical teaching.

Note: The print version of this book includes an extra chapter at the end from Reyes' point of view.

More Charley Davidson Books:
  • Book 1: First Grave on the Right (Review)
  • Novella 1.5: For I Have Sinned
  • Book 2: Second Grave on the Left (Review)
  • Book 3: Third Grave Dead Ahead (Review)
  • Book 4: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet (Review)
  • Book 5: Fifth Grave Past the Light (Review)
  • Book 6: Sixth Grave on the Edge (Review)
  • Book 7: Seventh Grave and No Body
  • Book 8: Eighth Grave After Dark (Review)
  • Book 8.5: Brighter Than the Sun (Review)
  • Book 9: The Dirt on Ninth Grave
  • Book 10: The Curse of Tenth Grave (expected publication 2016)
  • Book 11: Untitled (expected publication 2017)

If you enjoyed Sixth Grave on the Edge you may also like:
Moon Called (Mercedes Thompson, #1)
Best Blogger Tips

1 comment :

  1. Whoa. I saw that book description and it scared me. LOL I have wanted to read some of her work, but haven't done so yet.
    sherry @ fundinmental


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...