Thursday, July 25, 2013

Book Review: The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, Book 1), By Maggie Stiefvater

By: Maggie Stiefvater
ISBN: 0545424925
Add to your Goodreads Shelf

Being told "this is the year you will fall in love" would make most girls skip for joy. Blue isn't most girls. The daughter of a psychic, Blue grew up knowing that if she kissed her true love he would die, but how can you know if someone is your true love and what do magical ley lines, a missing king and a group of raven boys have to do with Blue?

The Raven Boys is an engaging and fast flowing Young Adult Fantasy. Fans of Maggie Stiefvater's The Wolves of Mercy Falls Series will find that this is an entirely different animal altogether (And, yes, I did just laugh at my own joke *grin*).

Parents of younger readers should be aware that The Raven Boys contains some tense and creepy material as well as:
  • a variety of profanity/language (e.g. F word, bast***, dic*, damn)
  • physical abuse of a child by an adult
  • references to a past murder
  • death
  • human sacrifice
  • dead body
  • references to gruesome injuries
  • use of magic, clairvoyance, rituals, fortune telling
  • references to mistresses, hush money, and prostitutes in conversation
  • teenage drinking
  • public urination
The Raven Boys is the first of four books in The Raven Cycle.

  • Book 1: The Raven Boys (Review) (1st Chapter)
  • Book 2: The Dream Thieves (Published 9/17/13)
  • Book 3: Untitled (Expected Pub 2014)
  • Book 4: Untitled (Expected Pub 2015)

Click to see reviews of other Books by Maggie Stiefvater

Best Blogger Tips

1 comment :

  1. Great review! I already put this one on my wishlist! Thanks for sharing.

    Ann@Blogging E-books


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...