Thursday, November 15, 2012

Series Review: Twilight Saga, By Stephanie Meyer

The Twilight Saga
By: Stephanie Meyer

This review encompasses all four books in The Twilight Saga (Twilight, New Moon, Eclipse, Breaking Dawn) as well as the Eclipse novella (The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner).
The most dangerous things Bella expected to encounter upon moving to Forks, Washington were freezing, sunless conditions and boredom.

Who knew that vampires were real and that falling in love with one could be so easy?

Caught up in a dangerous world she never knew existed, Bella finds herself fighting for a life she never dreamed she would want.

The Twilight Saga is a moderately paced young adult series focused around Bella, her romance, and how her life intermingles with vampires and other creatures. The characters are enjoyable, though at times shallow, and the plots get progressively more interesting.

Readers who hate love triangles may find this series frustrating after book one (Twilight).

Content of Series as a whole 

The following content is a culmination of the entire series.
Not all of the content listed below appears in each book.

  • manipulative flirting
  • obsessive adoration/love
  • large quantities of sensual physical contact
  • intensive kissing
  • sexual attraction, desire, and lust
  • multiple would be seduction scenes
  • Lying clothed in sexual positions to imagine sex
  • sex scenes (details suggested rather than stated)
There is a significant increase in sex centered thinking in books 3 and 4 and by the end of the series we are presented with a fantasy version of sex that is all consuming and potentially unending.

Violence or Gruesome 

  • violent injuries
  • vampire caused deaths
  • surgery (some graphic descriptions)
  • blood consumption
  • dismemberment and decapitation
  • vampires using humans as a food source 
  • implied torture of vampires by other vampires

  • use of medication to induce sleep
  • lying/deception
  • Depression
  • intentional recklessness 
  • infliction of emotional pain on another through selfish decisions

Should The Twilight Books be read in order?

Yes. The Twilight Series is a building story with numerous changing relationships. To really understand the characters and plot it is best to read them in order.

Are the Books Narrated by Different Characters?

Books 1, 2 and 3 are told solely from Bella's point of view, while book 4 is narrated by both Bella and another main character. This is not an unwelcome change and adds to the story as a whole.

The Eclipse Novella is told from a minor character's point of view.  

Is Twilight a Christian Series?


I could pick up any book in a library and find religious parallels. Not because the author put them there on purpose, but because we, as humans, have an amazing ability to see similarities and use fiction as an analogy for truth.

The Twilight Saga discusses modern verses old fashion morals (should people have sex before marriage, etc) as well as whether certain characters have souls or a chance at heaven due to their preternatural nature. There is no discussion of Christ, Christianity, or Salvation. Love is a key theme, but none of the characters or situations are used to draw an intentional parallel to a christian value.

So if you are in the mood for a non-christian vampire love story - give Twilight a read, but if you are looking specifically for Christian fantasy, this isn't the book you're looking for.

The Twilight Saga Books in Order
  • Book 1: Twilight (Review)
  • Book 2: New Moon (Review)
  • Book 3: Eclipse
  • Novella 3.5: The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner
  • Book 4: Breaking Dawn (Review)

Use the links to view my individual reviews.

Readers who enjoy Twilight may also like:

Book Review: Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy, Book 1), By Richelle Mead Cover Art Book Review: Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, Book 1), By Cassandra Clare Cover Art
Best Blogger Tips

1 comment :

  1. This is such a great breakdown. This is one of those series that I thought I would read, then it went viral and I said 'forget it'. I am constantly rethinking that. I just feel like it is hard going in with so much preconceived notions, but I may have to read it.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...