Friday, October 9, 2015

Book Review: Tonight the Streets Are Ours, by Leila Sales

Tonight the Streets Are Ours
By: Leila Sales
ISBN-10: 0374376654
Add on Goodreads

Arden’s the kind of girl who is always looking out for her friends—even when they don’t deserve it. Arden starts getting frustrated because it feels like her best friend and boyfriend don’t appreciate her efforts. So when she discovers a website called Tonight the Streets Are Ours, Arden quickly gets lost in the words of the author, Peter.

This is a young adult novel that contains:

• Profanity (WTF, sh*t, *sshole, d*ck, and h*ll)
• Drugs are found in a school locker, reference to getting high, and drunk teens at a party
• Reference to a pregnant teen
• Reference to breaking someone’s nose
• A gay character
• Discussion about two girls making out
• Alcoholic character
• A mother leaves her family
• References to crude piercings (safety pins in lips)
• Lying
• Discussion about cheating on boyfriend
• A girl plans to have sex with her boyfriend and wears a “sexy dress”

Tonight the Streets Are Ours is a contemporary standalone that deals with love, life, and loss. Fans of Leila Sales should know that this latest book of the author’s doesn’t quite live up to her captivating coming-of-age novel, This Song Will Save Your Life. However, it is still well-written with some thought provoking themes.

Best Blogger Tips

Lady Midnight Cover Reveal & Release Date

Cassandra Clare's next shadowhunter series takes off on March 8th (2016) with the release of the first book in The Dark Artifices series, Lady Midnight.

Lady Midnight begins five years after the events of City of Heavenly Fire, the final book in The Mortal Instruments series. Cassandra Clare has released the following blurb on her site.

Best Blogger Tips

Wednesday, October 7, 2015

Book Review: Devoted, by Jennifer Mathieu

By: Jennifer Mathieu
ISBN-10: 1596439115
Add on Goodreads

Rachel lives in a strict religious community where her father controls her behavior, the friends she hangs out with—even the clothes she wears. Rachel feels like she is slowly suffocating under the pressure to get married soon and produce children, but an opportunity to escape suddenly arrises when an old friend of Rachel’s, Lauren, who left the community years ago, moves back into town.

It contains:

• Profanity (F-word, d*ck, h*ll, d*mn, and cr*p)
• References to sex, immodest clothing, lust, bras, and a picture of a couple kissing
• Arousal, attraction, and a boy glances at two girls’ backsides who are wearing bikinis
• Nudity (a character undresses in the bathroom and looks at herself in the mirror)
• Brief mention of homosexuality
• Reference to a boy looking at pornography
• A father beats his daughter
• A father slaps his daughter
• Families disown their children
• One character drinks a couple times and gets drunk and hungover
• Reference to drinking vodka
• Mentions of a character smoking pot
• Lying and disobeying parents’ orders

Devoted is a thought-provoking and eye-opening story that explores the different ways people perceive Christianity. The book isn’t trying to mock Christians, and the main character, Rachel, has a quiet, peaceful admiration toward God throughout the novel.

Readers who enjoyed Devoted might also like The Chosen One, by Carol Lynch Williams.

Best Blogger Tips

Thursday, October 1, 2015

Book Review: Tsarina, by J. Nelle Patrick

By: J. Nelle Patrick
ISBN-10: 1595146938
Add on Goodreads

Natalya expects to marry the future Tsar of Russia, Alexei Romanov, and live out the rest of her life happy and contended with him. But all her plans change in an instant when she is trusted with the secret of a magical Faberge egg.

It includes:

• Minor profanity
• Some injuries
• Deaths
• Kissing

Tsarina is a historical fiction novel with a fantasy twist. The politics and real historical elements might be a bit too much for younger readers to handle, as well as the intense ending.

Readers who enjoyed Tsarina might also like:


Best Blogger Tips

Sunday, September 27, 2015

Book Review: Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss, Book 3), by Stephanie Perkins

Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss, book 3)
By: Stephanie Perkins
ISBN-10: 0525425632
Add on Goodreads

Isla has had a crush on Josh, an artist who attends the same boarding school as her, for what feels like forever. It finally seems like Josh might like Isla back, but when the two try to escape from their lives for a little while to spend time with each other, they get in huge trouble, and more obstacles seem to be preventing them from staying together.

It includes:

• Profanity (F-word, sh*t, *sshole, b*tch, d*ck, and h*ll)
• Kissing with tongue
• Making out
• Physical attraction and desire
• A character gets an erection
• References to first time sex, feeling each other up, and getting under someone’s dress
• A few sex scenes describing kissing breasts and below underwear, tension buildup, going down on him, and a condom
• Drawing of a boy masturbating, teens having sex, and a naked girlfriend
• Joking about torture porn
• Reference to a bisexual girl having a girlfriend
• Violence (a bloody nose, being chased out of a museum for being too loud)
• Breaking school rules
• A character takes painkillers
• Illegal drinking

Isla and the Happily Ever After feels more whimsical and less realistic than the two previous books. The romance between Isla and Josh is slightly insta-love, and their desires for each other seems to be focused more on the physical part of their relationship. That said, Stephanie Perkins’ writing is still extremely engaging, and the ending is sweet and should please fans of the Anna and the French Kiss trilogy.

Best Blogger Tips

Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Book Review: The Riverman (The Riverman, Book 1), by Aaron Starmer

The Riverman (The Riverman, book 1)
By: Aaron Starmer
ISBN-10: 0374363099
Add on Goodreads

Alistair’s friend Fiona is crazy—or so he thinks. All her talk of imaginary worlds and a Riverman is really starting to annoy him. That is, until she shows him proof that her bizarre tales are, indeed, true.

It includes:

• Some language (a few uses of d*mn, h*ll, cr*p, and one bad*ss)
• Violence (bloody injuries and a broken bone; one boy’s hands get blown off)
• Reference to a bikini-clad woman
• Reference to a drunk teenager

The Riverman is middle grade fantasy and can be quite dark and creepy, and there is a bit more cursing and violence than you would usually come across in a book aimed at younger children. The story is well written, but ends leaving a few too many unanswered questions.

Best Blogger Tips

Saturday, September 19, 2015

Book Review: The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, by Leslye Walton

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender
By: Leslye Walton
ISBN-10: 0763665665
Add on Goodreads

Ava Lavender’s family seems to be cursed with the habit of falling in love with the wrong people. Her mother and grandmother’s love affairs both ended tragically. But Ava is ready to brave the generation of bad luck behind her when she realizes she’s falling in love herself—but the pair of wings on her back that she was born with aren’t making the feat any easier.

Parents should be aware that this is a young adult book and contains the following inappropriate content:

• Profanity (including one F-word)
• Some suggestive sex scenes
• One brief and disturbing scene in which an older, married woman preforms oral sex on a young boy
• Brief mention of a character being homosexual
• References to breasts
• Violence (rape scene, some grotesque descriptions of wounds, one crazed character hacks off another character’s wings, deaths)
• Smoking

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender is YA contemporary mixed with magical realism in a beautifully written, addictive standalone. The characters are complex, quirky, humorous, and each have their own backstory. It should be suitable for ages fourteen or fifteen and up.

Readers who enjoyed The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender might also like:

Best Blogger Tips

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Fire Touched (Mercedes Thompson, book 9) Cover Reveal and Release Date

We have a cover for the ninth Mercedes Thompson book due to release March 8th 2016!

This is a particularly dark cover for a Mercedes Thompson book, which leaves me very curious . . .

A side note on Mercy's typical (for the covers) but uncharacteristic (for the actual character) lack of clothing, Mike Briggs (husband of Patricia Briggs) gave the following explanation:

Which I loved so much that I thought it might make a great cover quote, what do you think?

Best Blogger Tips

Saturday, September 12, 2015

Book Review: The Killing Dance (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #6), By Laurell K. Hamilton

Book Review: The Killing Dance (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #6), By Laurell K. Hamilton
By: Laurell K. Hamilton
ISBN: 0515134511
Add to your Goodreads Shelf

When someone puts a price on Anita's head, the dangerous Edward may be the key to keeping her alive.

The Killing Dance is the most sex-centered Anita Blake story up to this point in the series and the first book to have first person sexuality that goes beyond making out. The plot seems more like a context for relationship development than a driving force through the book and some typical cast members are missing.

This story also contains:
  • Extensive use of profanity and crude language
  • Necromancy
  • Killing
  • Injuries
  • Blood Drinking
  • Eating dead body
  • Love triangle
  • Nudity  
  • Group sexuality as a magical ritual
  • Rape
  • Painful sexuality
  • Detailed sex scene (many detailed references to genitals, breasts and other areas of the body)
Best Blogger Tips

Thursday, September 10, 2015

No more Allegiant Part 2!!!!! New developements for the Divergent Franchise

March 2017 will no longer herald the release of Allegiant part 2, according to The last two Divergent films are getting new titles. Number three releasing this upcoming March (2016) will be titled simply: Allegiant while the fourth film release March 2017 will be called Ascendant.

Both films' tag lines are of interest with Allegiant's making perfect sense to those who have read the book

and Ascendant's making said people wonder if changes could be in store. . .

Reportedly, both films are still based on Veronica Roth's book, Allegiant. However, the film makers could extend or change any number of things in their quest for cinema greatness.

Personally, I'm glad to be rid of the whole part 1 and part 2 nonsense and this whole ordeal has made me particularly curious is the film makers will leave the cinema version with a conclusion or twist I find more satisfying than the one in the book. Could a movie ever truly surpass the book it's based on? I can only hope. What do you think?
Best Blogger Tips

Recent & Upcoming Releases on Amazon