Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Book Review: Spring's Gentle Promise (Seasons of the Heart, Book 4), By Janette Oke

Spring's Gentle Promise
By: Janette Oke

Joshua's life is full, with the responsibilities of manhood and a family that cares for him, but is there love in his future?

Spring's Gentle Promise brings an end to the Seasons of the Heart series. This story showcases the joys and hardships in life, with the faith and trust necessary to weather them. A clean read appropriate for all ages.
Best Blogger Tips

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Book Review: Falling into Place by Amy Zhang

falling into place by amy zhang ya young adult contemporary realistic fiction book cover large hd 2014
Falling into Place
By: Amy Zhang
ISBN-10: 0062295047
Add on Goodreads

Lonely, bulimic, depressed, alcohol and drug addicted Liz Emerson has had enough of her life, so one day she drives her car off an icy road in a failed suicide attempt, leaving her body in critical condition and her friends and family to worry about whether she will live through the night.

Falling into Place is told in out-of-order chapters that reflect on Liz’s life, giving us an inside look at her past thoughts and actions, and providing the readers with a better understanding of—but not romanticizing—teen suicide.

This is a smoothly-written young adult contemporary standalone. Parents should be aware that it contains the following:

• Teenagers taking drugs, drinking, and smoking

• A bulimic character
• References to sex
• Uses of crude sexual terms
• Reference to a character having had an abortion
• Profanity (including the f-word)
• Some medical-related violence (descriptions of blood)
• Name-calling (“lesbo,” “slut,” “skank,” etc.)
• Bullying
• Reference to a past rape
• Mentions of some characters being gay
• Mentions of breasts

You might also like The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton and:

 Book Review: The Truth About Alice

Best Blogger Tips

Sunday, October 5, 2014

Book Review: Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy, Book 6), By Richelle Mead

Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy, #6) By: Richelle Mead

Framed for murder and facing a trial where the verdict is already decided, Rose's life seems to be coming to a terrifyingly quick and pointless end. Then escape provided an alternative and Rose finds herself fighting for two things more important than her innocence – Truth and Love.

Last Sacrifice provides an exciting and satisfying ending to the Vampire Academy series and the story of Rose Hathaway. It contains making out, awareness of nudity, sex, killing, various law breaking, and limited profanity. Readers who have followed this series will find that the sexuality and violence in Last Sacrifice do not exceed that seen in prior books.

Haven't read any of the Vampire Academy books yet?
I recommend starting with Vampire Academy, Book 1

Read them all and still want more?
Check out Richelle Mead's series Bloodlines where the story continues!
Best Blogger Tips

Saturday, October 4, 2014

Cover Reveal: The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

We have a cover for the sequel to The Winner’s Curse, the second book in The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski, and I think it’s just as dazzling as the first one, and a whole lot more blue-tiful (sorry, I couldn’t resist!).

the winner's crime trilogy curse by marie rutkoski cover reveal large hd ya young adult fantasy romance
I absolutely love the way these covers are themed!

The Winner’s Crime will be released March 3, 2015. Having really enjoyed the first book, I can’t wait to get my hands on it!

Best Blogger Tips

Friday, October 3, 2014

Book Review: The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu

the truth about alice by jennifer mathieu ya young adult realistic fiction book cover large hd hardcover 2014
The Truth About Alice
By: Jennifer Mathieu
ISBN-10: 1596439092
Add on Goodreads

Rumors about Alice Franklin have been spreading around Healy High ever since Brandon Fitzsimmons died in a car wreck, after telling everyone that Alice slept with him and another guy in the same night.

Soon a “slut stall” arises in the girls’ bathroom at school, and people whisper about Brandon’s death being Alice’s fault behind her back. But Alice has clammed up, so no one knows how she was really involved in the events—no one, save for some teenagers who are keeping their own secrets involving her.

Parents should be aware that this book contains:

• Profanity (including the f-word)
• Drinking
• Mentions of breasts
• A semi-descriptive sex scene between a teenager and an older, college-aged person
• One character has an abortion

Told in multiple point of views, The Truth About Alice is a realistically written, fast-paced young adult book that spectacularly tackles school stereotypes. I would recommend it for mature teens.

You might also like:

 Book Review: Falling into Place

Best Blogger Tips

Monday, September 29, 2014

Book Review: Max (Maximum Ride, Book 5), By James Patterson

Image Detail
By: James Patterson
ISBN: 0316002909

The enemies of the flock will stop at nothing to eliminate Maximum Ride, including kidnapping her mother. But the scariest thing in Max's life isn't danger - it's love.

The fifth Maximum Ride novel, Max, continues the overall plot in another mini-story similar in size and intensity to Final Warning (Book 4). The kissing in this book escalates to fairly nondescript making out (lying down while hugging and kissing) while the violence and language remain at similar levels to that seen in prior books. Continuing the environmental trend started in book 4, this book focuses on the potential evils of radiation to the environment.

Readers unfamiliar with the earlier books should check out The Angel Experiment (Book 1)

Best Blogger Tips

Book Review: The Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner Trilogy, book 2), By James Dashner

The Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner Trilogy, book 2)
By James Dashner
ISBN: 9780385738750
Add to Goodreads

Thomas, Teressa, and the Gladers thought the nightmare was over, but Wicked isn't done with them yet. When Teressa disappears and Wicked sets them on another life or death trial, they are forced to wonder who really is a friend and who's an enemy.

Book two in The Maze Runner Trilogy quickly dispenses with any warm fuzzies and thrusts us right into an entirely new string of challenges and twists. The story deals heavily with betrayal and guessing who truly has your back.

It includes:

  • Use of word Cr*p
  • Dead bodies (bloated)
  • Gruesome Death
  • Killing 
  • Blood 
  • Kissing

Best Blogger Tips

Saturday, September 20, 2014

Cover Reveal: Lion Heart (Scarlet, Book 3) by A. C. Gaughen

The third and final book in the Robin Hood retelling series by A. C. Gaughen finally has a cover—and it’s gorgeous!

I was really impressed with Scarlet, so I can’t wait to read Lion Heart! (I love typing out that title; it’s so awesome!)

Haven’t read Scarlet yet? Give it a try if you like YA fantasy, historical fiction, or books by Sarah J. Maas or Leigh Bardugo. Lion Heart is to be released May 19, 2015.

Best Blogger Tips

Cover Reveal: All Fall Down by Ally Carter

The author of the popular Heist Society and Gallagher Girls series has a new book coming out January 27, 2015. Check out the cool cover!

All Fall Down will the first in a new mystery espionage series called Embassy Row. Are you excited for it?

Best Blogger Tips

Friday, September 19, 2014

Book Review: Fair Game (Alpha & Omega, Book 3)

Fair Game (Alpha & Omega, #3)By: Patricia Briggs
ISBN: 0441020038
Add to your Goodreads Shelf

Something is wrong with Charles and he won't let Anna in. When the two of them are sent to consult on a serial killer that is targeting werewolves, they find themselves part of a decades old investigation that may change the way magical beings interact with the world forever.
Best Blogger Tips

Recent & Upcoming Releases on Amazon