Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Book Review: The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner: An Eclipse Novella, By Stephanie Meyer

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner (The Twilight Saga, #3.5)By: Stephanie Meyer
http://stephaniemeyer.com
ISBN-10: 031612558X
Add to your Goodreads Shelf

Bree's human hunger trapped her in a life of endless thirst and now she lives a lonely existence in the company of violent, blood thirsty newborns. Why she was created remains a mystery, but something is coming – she can feel it.
Best Blogger Tips

Friday, November 21, 2014

Insurgent Teaser Trailer

Enjoy this teaser trailer for Insurgent, the movie sequel to Divergent (based on the book series by Veronica Roth), in which Tris’s hair is chopped short and she appears to be in a fear landscape.


Best Blogger Tips

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Book Review: The Luxe (Luxe Series, Book 1), by Anna Godbersen

The Luxe (Luxe Series, book 1)
By: Anna Godbersen
www.AnnaGodbersen.com
ISBN-10: 0061345660
Add on Goodreads

Beautiful clothes, luxurious parties, and charming smiles are all hiding the outrageous scandals, forbidden romance, jealous rivalries, and risky bargains of five teenagers living in Manhattan. With so many obstacles stopping each of them from getting what they want, will love conquer all in the end?

The Luxe is a young adult historical fiction novel. It contains:

• Kissing
• References to sex (no details)
• One use of godd*mn
• Young people drinking and smoking (which is not out of context for the historical era)

This is the first in a series of four books. It’s slow to start, but the pace picks up a lot after about one hundred pages. Fans of Sara Shepard’s writing should find it quite enjoyable.


Readers who enjoyed The Luxe might also like the Gemma Doyle Trilogy by Libba Bray, and the Pretty Little Liars Series by Sara Shepard.

Best Blogger Tips

Saturday, November 15, 2014

Book Review: Hex Hall (Hex Hall Series, Book 1) by Rachel Hawkins

Hex Hall (Hex Hall Series, book 1)
By: Rachel Hawkins
ReadingWritingRachel.blogspot.com
ISBN-10: 1423121309
Add on Goodreads

Meet Sophie. She’s a witch who has the bad habit of casting spells that always seem to go wrong. So as punishment, she’s sent to Hecate Hall, otherwise known as “Hex Hall,” where she instantly makes a new array of friends and enemies, and honestly, she’s a little confused about who’s who. But Sophie’s already got enough to worry about, what with the spirit of a ghost hovering around the school grounds, and a cute werewolf she has her eye on, who seems intent on making Sophie dislike him.

It includes:

• References to murder
• Descriptions of hangings, beatings, and burnings
• Use of spells
• Profanity (b*tch, d*mn, h*ll, and p*ss)
• Brief references to loss of virginity
• A homosexual character
• One passionate kiss

Hex Hall is a fun, school-themed novel with lots of believable paranormal twists. Funny, surprising, and light-hearted, this book aimed for teens has a strong female narrator, and it won’t be surprising if you find yourself instantly attached to the charming, sarcastic cast of characters.


Readers who enjoyed Hex Hall might also like:

    

Best Blogger Tips

Friday, November 14, 2014

Book Review: Obsidian (Lux Series, Book 1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

obsidian lux series by jennifer l. armentrout young adult paranormal aliens book cover large hd sarah's reviews
Obsidian (Lux Series, book 1)
By: Jennifer L. Armentrout
www.JenniferArmentrout.com
Add on Goodreads
ISBN-10: 1620610078

Katy and her mom have just moved to a small town in West Virginia, when Katy decides to pay a visit to their next-door neighbors. But she’s shocked when the guy who opens the door is unbelievably rude to her. His name is Daemon, and he also just so happens to be ridiculously gorgeous. When he and Katy aren’t trying to kill each other in verbal wars, Katy spends her time hanging out with his awesome sister, Dee, who acts nothing like her brother.

And yet, Katy can’t help noticing strange details about the family—and her suspicions only raise when she hears rumors about past sightings of creatures in town . . . inhuman creatures. Not to mention the men wearing black she’s always catching glimpses of, who seem to be following her.

Then, one cold and rainy night, Katy is attacked.

Parents should be aware that this book contains:

• Profanity (including the f-word)
• Violence (injuries, fighting, and killing)
• Lying
• High physical attraction
• Sexual innuendos
• Making out with partial nudity
• Attempted rape
• References to sex
• A few mentions of bras and breasts
• Underaged drinking

Obsidian is the first in a young adult paranormal series. The chemistry between Katy and Daemon is tense and engrossing, but can be, at times, quite frustrating. The plot is scattered with clich├ęs, but the author’s page-turning writing makes up for it. This is one paranormal romance that is sure to keep you hooked.


Readers who enjoyed Obsidian might also like the Sweet Trilogy by Wendy Higgins and the Hush, Hush Saga by Becca Fitzpatrick, as well as:


Best Blogger Tips

Book Review: Blue Noon (Midnighters, Book 3), By Scott Westerfeld

Blue Noon (Midnighters, #3)By: Scott Westerfeld

The blue time is ripping apart, coming at random times, and enveloping more and more space. Something big is coming. The oldest Darklings are stirring. Only the Midnighters' combined skills can unravel the truth about the past and the future.

Blue Noon brings an interesting and unexpected
Best Blogger Tips

Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Book Summary: Turn Coat (Dresden Files, Book 11), By Jim Butcher - Spoilers

Book Summary: Turn Coat (Dresden Files, Book 11), By Jim Butcher - SpoilersTurn Coat (Dresden Files, book 11)
By: Jim Butcher
www.jim-butcher.com
Turn Coat is available on Amazon.com
Add to your Goodreads Shelf


The following plot summary includes extensive spoilers. To read a spoiler-free, content (pacing, humor, characters, profanity, sexuality & violence) centered review please see the Dresden Files Series Review.

First time readers: This summery could greatly detract from your reading experience.

Long time fans: If you're looking for a memory refresher you've come to the right place!
Best Blogger Tips

Monday, November 3, 2014

Book Review: Bone Crossed (Mercedes Thompson, Book 4), By Patricia Briggs

Bone Crossed (Mercedes Thompson, #4) By: Patricia Briggs

Still reeling from the aftermath of being a rape victim, Mercy Thompson – friendly neighborhood mechanic and shape shifter – is in no shape to evade being murdered by the vampire queen. But between do or die the choice is pretty obvious, and Mercy has a whole pack of werewolves at her back.

Bone Crossed picks up a couple seconds before the end of Iron Kissed with another edge of your seat installment
Best Blogger Tips

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Book Review: Shadow and Bone (The Grisha Trilogy, Book 1) by Leigh Bardugo

shadow and bone cover large hd by leigh bardugo grisha series fantasy ya young adult ssbookreviews sarah's reviews
Shadow and Bone (The Grisha Trilogy, book 1)
By: Leigh Bardugo
www.LeighBardugo.com
ISBN-10: 9780805094596
Add on Goodreads

In the land of Ravka, Alina Starkov is training as a mapmaker in the First Army, alongside her best friend, Mal. When their ship is attacked by Volcra—creatures who eat human flesh—in a vast stretch of darkness that divides the land, called the Shadow Fold, Alina soon finds herself being pulled away from everything she thought she knew, and brought into the unfamiliar world of the Grisha—people who have powers that put them in a higher position than everyone else. Alina will have to be brave as she faces betrayals and unraveling secrets—some even concerning herself.

It includes:

• Minor profanity (a few uses of h*ll and d*mn)
• Kissing
• Making out
• Some violence (a man gets sliced in half)

Shadow in Bone is a fast-paced, mysterious fantasy book, with a unique love triangle different from other young adult books. The Russian culture incorporated into this novel also sets it apart. Fans of dystopian, fantasy, and young adult books will be pleased to find that this is an original story, mixed with Russian folklore, and contains a broad cast of strong and likable characters.


Readers who enjoyed Shadow and Bone might also like:

      

Best Blogger Tips

Sunday, October 26, 2014

Cover Reveal: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses is the first book in a new fantasy trilogy by the author of the Throne of Glass series. It will be released May 5th, 2015. The cover was recently revealed, and I think it’s really pretty and awesome, and has definitely whet my appetite to read this book!

a court of thorns and roses sarah j maas throne of glass 2015 publication cover reveal large hd ya fantasy

Best Blogger Tips

Recent & Upcoming Releases on Amazon