Thursday, August 28, 2014

Book Review: The Giver (The Giver Quartet, Book 1) by Lois Lowry

the giver quartet book 1 cover hd large paperback edition hardcover by lois lowry dystopian middle grade young adult 1993
The Giver (The Giver Quartet, book 1)
By: Lois Lowry
LoisLowry.com
ISBN-10: 0547995660
Add on Goodreads

Jonas lives in a perfect Community, where leaders decide everyone’s lives to prevent conflict. During his Ceremony of Twelve, he’s surprised when he is chosen to be a Receiver. When he meets The Giver, whose job is to hold ancient memories for the Community, he begins to teach Jonas about how the world used to be. As Jonas starts to recognize the Sameness in the Community, which has caused strong emotions, like Love, to diminish, he grows frustrated and begins to rebel against the system.

This 1993 novel is slow-paced compared to modern, action-packed dystopians. However, the story arouses thought-provoking questions, and the original writing and intriguing plot will hold readers’ interests.

The Giver is the first installment in a series, and though it’s targeted toward children, it is quite intense throughout. Parents should be aware that it includes the following:

• Jonas has what are called “stirrings” for his friend Fiona, and wants to bathe her in a dream
• The Giver shows Jonas memories of death, loneliness, hunger, and other hardships
• Violence (much talk of “Release,” which readers will know to mean death; blood, vomit, and broken bones are vaguely described, and there is a scene where an infant is injected in the head with a needle and dies)


Readers who enjoyed The Giver may also like:

Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix
Unwind by Neal Shusterman
The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

Best Blogger Tips

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Book Review: Eclipse (The Twilight Saga, Book 3), By Stephanie Meyer

Eclipse (Twilight, #3)By: Stephanie Meyer
http://stephaniemeyer.com

Bella's human life is quickly coming to a close, but with so many outside forces clambering to stop her heart, she may not make it to graduation alive. Somehow she must find a way to reconcile the two parts of her heart and life before her time runs out.
Best Blogger Tips

Monday, August 25, 2014

Dresden Files Book 16: PEACE TALKS - What we know about it! PLUS Dresden Files Film Updated News

Dresden Files book 16

Here's what we know:

Title: During his reddit.com question and answer session back in May (2014) Jim announced,


"Book 16 will be titled PEACE TALKS, and will probably be one of the more supernaturally violent books to date. :)"

Synopsis: While it's early to get a real synopsis, Jim let the following information fly at the Question and Answer he did in Seattle on May 30th (2014)*.

"A summit of the world's supernatural powers is being held to try to establish some sort of equilibrium and to get everything settled down in the wake of the vanishing of the red court. And I'm pretty sure everyone's going to sit down and have a nice cup of tea, there'll be a talk, and walk away holding hands."

Yes, the second half of this was delivered with Jim's typical dead pan humor.

More Molly: During the Reddit Q&A Jim also remarked that we would see a little of how Molly was coping with being the Winter Lady in Skin Game, but we would get more in book 16.


Conclusion: We are looking at some supernaturally violent peace talks during which we will see more of Molly. Sounds like fun!

Have you heard something more from Jim? Please leave a comment and let us know!



Dresden Files Film News


Well, the series has been optioned again! No, this doesn't mean anything for certain, but it is the first important step. Butcher addressed this at the Seattle Q&A as well. See quote below*.

"This is what I can say: The option is-has been sold again. It has been, has been, yeah I've leased it out again. It's to a major production company who's name I'm not at liberty to share with you, but who's movie probably 90% of the people in this room have seen this Summer already and hopefully, there will be something that comes of it. There has been interest expressed by at least one production company in actually picking it up. I don't know if anything will happen with it but it might. It's Hollywood so nothing's certain until the check is cleared. Just getting the check isn't good enough - it's got to clear. But, I mean hopefully, we'll see something. I think it would, really it would be best as a feature production series - Game of Throne style. I think that's how it would be best but certainly movies are also a possibility. I don't have anything concrete yet, when I do - I will be crowing about it."


*Please note that these quotes are my best attempt to reiterate what Jim said from the video recording. If you notice inaccuracies, please let me know so that they can be corrected.



 Complete Dresden Files Series


Best Blogger Tips

Friday, August 22, 2014

Book Review: Rapture (Fallen, Book 4), By Lauren Kate

By: Lauren Kate
http://laurenkatebooks.net
ISBN: 0385739184
Add to your Goodreads Shelf

Luce, Daniel and the others must stop Lucifer from wiping out centuries of existence and them with it, but the closer they get to stopping him - the more Luce realizes how central she is to the whole mess.

After three books of more questions than answers, Rapture finally provides the satisfaction of full explanations. The plot itself is entertaining with unforeseen twists and turns that keep appearing to the very end.

Readers should be aware that this book contains:
  • Kissing
  • Making out in underwear (feeling up & down bodies and kissing)
  • injuries (blood, unnatural angel of limbs)
  • Killing (by weapons, fire, strangulation)
  • sacrificial death/killing
Biblical events, places, and figures are mentioned throughout, although Christian readers will find that there are numerous inaccuracies.

More Fallen Reviews:
Best Blogger Tips

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Book Review: Winter Is Not Forever - Seasons of the Heart, Book 3

Winter Is Not Forever
By: Janette Oke

On the brink of adulthood, Joshua must figure out what to do with his life after graduation. Only he still hasn't felt a specific calling. What does God want him to do? How will he know, and what should he do in the meantime?

Enjoyable and encouraging, this book focuses on discovering God's plan and the confusion that can accompany this journey. Winter Is Not Forever is the third book in the Seasons of the Heart series and a clean read.
Best Blogger Tips

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Frostbite Movie Crowd Funding Campaign


Today fate of the Frostbite Movie was placed in the hands of the fans.


Over the past number of months the majority of the funds necessary for the production of Frostbite were raised, but the backers have requested one thing to finalize the deal. 1.5 Million dollars raised by the fans. If the crowd funding campaign reaches $1.5 Million dollars by the September 5th deadline - then Frostbite gets the green light and Vampire Academy gets it's sequel.


The Pitch

The Indiegogo page features this video explaining what they are trying to do.



Raised so far:

August 6, 2014 11 AM or so -Campaign Began
August 6, 2014 8:12 P.M. $74,029





How to Donate:

Go to https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/frostbite-a-vampire-academy-film and use the contribute now button.



So that's the deal. Is a Frostbite movie worth funding?



Best Blogger Tips

Book Review: If I Stay (If I Stay, book 1), By Gayle Forman

If I Stay (Book 1)
By: Gayle Forman
ISBN: 0525421033
Add to Goodreads
Movie News


When a car accident tears Mia's family away and leaves her body broken, she must decide whether to go on living or give up the fight.


If I Stay combines romance and grief in a brief heart-wrenching story about life, loss, family, and hope. The book flips between past and current events in a manor that smoothly moves the story forward. While you could easily read this story as a stand alone book, there is a sequel titled Where She Went.

If I Stay is a young adult novel and includes content inappropriate for younger readers.

  • Profanity (Many uses/variations of the F word and sh*t as well as B*tch and G*d D*mn, etc)
  • "White trash" used in banter
  • Sneaking child into casino
  • Several references to drinking, drunkenness 
  • Rule breaking & references to playing hookey
  • Judaism referenced
  • References to throwing up
  • Jokes about a costume being satanic and damnation
  • Surgery
  • References to blood, broken bones, dead bodies, brain matter
  • Fist fight
  • Brief reference to a woman being pro choice, planned parenthood, the pill, condoms, someone being queer/gay/lesbian
  • Description of woman in labor and giving birth (references to frontal nudity, yelling, much swearing)
  • Parent encouraging child to build up condom supply
  • References to virginity and lack there of
  • Hooking up referenced
  • Much sensual touching of chests, bellies & some clothing removal

Readers who enjoy If I Stay may also like:

Book Review: The Fault In Our Stars


Best Blogger Tips

Monday, August 4, 2014

Maximum Ride novel number 9: Maximum Ride Forever - Release Date, Sneak Peek

It seems that Nevermore is not the final Maximum Ride novel.

Book nine by James Patterson will be titled Maximum Ride Forever and is set to release January 19, 2015.

We have the first several pages courtesy of BarnesandNoble.com. Read below.











Best Blogger Tips

Morganville Vampires WebSeries Teaser Trailer!

We have our first Teaser Trailer! Still no airing date, but hopefully soon!



Best Blogger Tips

Saturday, August 2, 2014

Cover Reveal: The Body Electric by Beth Revis!

The author of the best-selling Across the Universe Trilogy has a new book coming out this October. Can you guess what the main genre is? Yup, science fiction. On Beth’s Ask the Author page on Goodreads she hinted that The Body Electric is set in the same world as Across the Universe, though this book will be a standalone novel and not part of a series.

Without further ado, feast your eyes on the lovely and intriguing cover!

book cover reveal large hd the body electric by beth revis author across the universe trilogy expected publication date october science fiction sci-fi ya young adult upcoming releases books
I really love the art and color theme of the cover. The first part of the summary reads as:

The future world is at peace.

Ella Shepherd has dedicated her life to using her unique gift—the ability to enter people’s dreams and memories using technology developed by her mother—to help others relive their happy memories.

But not all is at it seems.

You can read the rest of the summary on Goodreads here, and check out Beth Revis’s post on her blog, where she rants about the book.

As a big fan of the Across the Universe Trilogy, I can’t wait to read The Body Electric! Are you excited for it?

Best Blogger Tips

Recent & Upcoming Releases on Amazon