Thursday, October 1, 2015

Book Review: Tsarina, by J. Nelle Patrick

By: J. Nelle Patrick
ISBN-10: 1595146938
Add on Goodreads

Natalya expects to marry the future Tsar of Russia, Alexei Romanov, and live out the rest of her life happy and contended with him. But all her plans change in an instant when she is trusted with the secret of a magical Faberge egg.

It includes:

• Minor profanity
• Some injuries
• Deaths
• Kissing

Tsarina is a historical fiction novel with a fantasy twist. The politics and real historical elements might be a bit too much for younger readers to handle, as well as the intense ending.

Readers who enjoyed Tsarina might also like:


Best Blogger Tips

Sunday, September 27, 2015

Book Review: Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss, Book 3), by Stephanie Perkins

Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss, book 3)
By: Stephanie Perkins
ISBN-10: 0525425632
Add on Goodreads

Isla has had a crush on Josh, an artist who attends the same boarding school as her, for what feels like forever. It finally seems like Josh might like Isla back, but when the two try to escape from their lives for a little while to spend time with each other, they get in huge trouble, and more obstacles seem to be preventing them from staying together.

It includes:

• Profanity (F-word, sh*t, *sshole, b*tch, d*ck, and h*ll)
• Kissing with tongue
• Making out
• Physical attraction and desire
• A character gets an erection
• References to first time sex, feeling each other up, and getting under someone’s dress
• A few sex scenes describing kissing breasts and below underwear, tension buildup, going down on him, and a condom
• Drawing of a boy masturbating, teens having sex, and a naked girlfriend
• Joking about torture porn
• Reference to a bisexual girl having a girlfriend
• Violence (a bloody nose, being chased out of a museum for being too loud)
• Breaking school rules
• A character takes painkillers
• Illegal drinking

Isla and the Happily Ever After feels more whimsical and less realistic than the two previous books. The romance between Isla and Josh is slightly insta-love, and their desires for each other seems to be focused more on the physical part of their relationship. That said, Stephanie Perkins’ writing is still extremely engaging, and the ending is sweet and should please fans of the Anna and the French Kiss trilogy.

Best Blogger Tips

Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Book Review: The Riverman (The Riverman, Book 1), by Aaron Starmer

The Riverman (The Riverman, book 1)
By: Aaron Starmer
ISBN-10: 0374363099
Add on Goodreads

Alistair’s friend Fiona is crazy—or so he thinks. All her talk of imaginary worlds and a Riverman is really starting to annoy him. That is, until she shows him proof that her bizarre tales are, indeed, true.

It includes:

• Some language (a few uses of d*mn, h*ll, cr*p, and one bad*ss)
• Violence (bloody injuries and a broken bone; one boy’s hands get blown off)
• Reference to a bikini-clad woman
• Reference to a drunk teenager

The Riverman is middle grade fantasy and can be quite dark and creepy, and there is a bit more cursing and violence than you would usually come across in a book aimed at younger children. The story is well written, but ends leaving a few too many unanswered questions.

Best Blogger Tips

Saturday, September 19, 2015

Book Review: The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, by Leslye Walton

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender
By: Leslye Walton
ISBN-10: 0763665665
Add on Goodreads

Ava Lavender’s family seems to be cursed with the habit of falling in love with the wrong people. Her mother and grandmother’s love affairs both ended tragically. But Ava is ready to brave the generation of bad luck behind her when she realizes she’s falling in love herself—but the pair of wings on her back that she was born with aren’t making the feat any easier.

Parents should be aware that this is a young adult book and contains the following inappropriate content:

• Profanity (including one F-word)
• Some suggestive sex scenes
• One brief and disturbing scene in which an older, married woman preforms oral sex on a young boy
• Brief mention of a character being homosexual
• References to breasts
• Violence (rape scene, some grotesque descriptions of wounds, one crazed character hacks off another character’s wings, deaths)
• Smoking

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender is YA contemporary mixed with magical realism in a beautifully written, addictive standalone. The characters are complex, quirky, humorous, and each have their own backstory. It should be suitable for ages fourteen or fifteen and up.

Readers who enjoyed The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender might also like:

Best Blogger Tips

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Fire Touched (Mercedes Thompson, book 9) Cover Reveal and Release Date

We have a cover for the ninth Mercedes Thompson book due to release March 8th 2016!

This is a particularly dark cover for a Mercedes Thompson book, which leaves me very curious . . .

A side note on Mercy's typical (for the covers) but uncharacteristic (for the actual character) lack of clothing, Mike Briggs (husband of Patricia Briggs) gave the following explanation:

Which I loved so much that I thought it might make a great cover quote, what do you think?

Best Blogger Tips

Saturday, September 12, 2015

Book Review: The Killing Dance (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #6), By Laurell K. Hamilton

Book Review: The Killing Dance (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #6), By Laurell K. Hamilton
By: Laurell K. Hamilton
ISBN: 0515134511
Add to your Goodreads Shelf

When someone puts a price on Anita's head, the dangerous Edward may be the key to keeping her alive.

The Killing Dance is the most sex-centered Anita Blake story up to this point in the series and the first book to have first person sexuality that goes beyond making out. The plot seems more like a context for relationship development than a driving force through the book and some typical cast members are missing.

This story also contains:
  • Extensive use of profanity and crude language
  • Necromancy
  • Killing
  • Injuries
  • Blood Drinking
  • Eating dead body
  • Love triangle
  • Nudity  
  • Group sexuality as a magical ritual
  • Rape
  • Painful sexuality
  • Detailed sex scene (many detailed references to genitals, breasts and other areas of the body)
Best Blogger Tips

Thursday, September 10, 2015

No more Allegiant Part 2!!!!! New developements for the Divergent Franchise

March 2017 will no longer herald the release of Allegiant part 2, according to The last two Divergent films are getting new titles. Number three releasing this upcoming March (2016) will be titled simply: Allegiant while the fourth film release March 2017 will be called Ascendant.

Both films' tag lines are of interest with Allegiant's making perfect sense to those who have read the book

and Ascendant's making said people wonder if changes could be in store. . .

Reportedly, both films are still based on Veronica Roth's book, Allegiant. However, the film makers could extend or change any number of things in their quest for cinema greatness.

Personally, I'm glad to be rid of the whole part 1 and part 2 nonsense and this whole ordeal has made me particularly curious is the film makers will leave the cinema version with a conclusion or twist I find more satisfying than the one in the book. Could a movie ever truly surpass the book it's based on? I can only hope. What do you think?
Best Blogger Tips

Monday, September 7, 2015

Book Review: The Orphan Queen (The Orphan Queen, Book 1), by Jodi Meadows

The Orphan Queen (The Orphan Queen, book 1)
By: Jodi Meadows
ISBN-10: 0062317385
Add on Goodreads

Wilhelmina’s kingdom was ravaged when she was a little girl, her whole family slaughtered. Now, ten years later, Wil is hiding out with her trusty band of thieves, the Ospreys. Every day Wil trains for the time when she will rise up and take back her rightful position on the throne, but Wil is hiding another secret: She has a magical ability, which is dangerous not only because magic is banned, but also because her power is difficult to control.

This is a young adult fantasy book and contains:

• Stealing
• Violence (deaths, injuries, references to murders, hallucinations, and killing magical creatures)
• References to women’s curvy bodies
• Kissing

The Orphan Queen is a fairly clean book, though it does contain some violence and kissing. The fantasy plot is not completely original, but it is fast-moving and should keep readers interested.

Best Blogger Tips

Saturday, September 5, 2015

The 5th Wave Movie Poster!

Here is the breathtaking poster for The 5th Wave movie!

I absolutely love this poster—the terrified looks on Cassie and Sam’s faces, the destruction in the background signifying the apocalypse, and the color scheme. If you don’t know, The 5th Wave is about a young girl struggling to survive in an alien apocalypse.

Are you excited for the movie?

Best Blogger Tips

Cover Reveal: Half Lost (Half Bad Trilogy, Book 3), by Sally Green

Half Lost is the third and final book in the Half Bad Trilogy, following Nathan, a half Black and half White witch. The Half Bad books are gritty, dark, violent, and incredibly fast-paced. Half Lost will be published in March 2016.

Are you excited to read Half Lost? What do you think of the cover?

half bad trilogy book three half lost by sally green cover reveal
Best Blogger Tips

Recent & Upcoming Releases on Amazon