Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Book Review: Shadow and Bone (The Grisha Trilogy, Book 1) by Leigh Bardugo

shadow and bone cover large hd by leigh bardugo grisha series fantasy ya young adult ssbookreviews sarah's reviews
Shadow and Bone (The Grisha Trilogy, book 1)
By: Leigh Bardugo
www.LeighBardugo.com
ISBN-10: 9780805094596
Add on Goodreads

In the land of Ravka, Alina Starkov is training as a mapmaker in the First Army, alongside her best friend, Mal. When their ship is attacked by Volcra—creatures who eat human flesh—in a vast stretch of darkness that divides the land, called the Shadow Fold, Alina soon finds herself being pulled away from everything she thought she knew, and brought into the unfamiliar world of the Grisha—people who have powers that put them in a higher position than everyone else. Alina will have to be brave as she faces betrayals and unraveling secrets—some even concerning herself.

It includes:

• Minor profanity (a few uses of h*ll and d*mn)
• Kissing
• Making out
• Some violence (a man gets sliced in half)

Shadow in Bone is a fast-paced and mysterious fantasy book, with a unique love triangle different from other young adult books. The Russian culture incorporated into this novel also sets it apart. Fans of dystopian, fantasy, and young adult books will be pleased to find that this is an original story, mixed with Russian folklore, and contains a broad cast of strong and likable characters.


Readers who enjoyed Shadow and Bone might also like:

      

Best Blogger Tips

Sunday, October 26, 2014

Cover Reveal: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses is the first book in a new fantasy trilogy by the author of the Throne of Glass series. It will be released May 5th, 2015. The cover was recently revealed, and I think it’s really pretty and awesome, and has definitely whet my appetite to read this book!

a court of thorns and roses sarah j maas throne of glass 2015 publication cover reveal large hd ya fantasy

Best Blogger Tips

Friday, October 24, 2014

Mirror, Mirror (Dresden Files Book 17) Sneak Peek / Spoilers

Dresden Files book 17
Last Updated 10/24/2014 
I will continue to update as I find out more!

So Skin Game (Book 15) is published and we know a bit of what to expect in Peace Talks (Book 16), what do we know about book 17? Or rather, what has Jim Butcher himself told us about book 17?

Note: At this time all the info/quotes I have below are from Jim's Q&A at DragonCon 2014, I will specify when I find information from other times.

Title: It's called Mirror Mirror.

"The next book after this one is called Mirror Mirror and there's just going to be eye patches and goatees and everything."

Premise: The Dresden Files universe in which one choice is different.

"Kind of the idea is I want to change one choice and make a universe that's different by one choice and see what happens and that will be a great deal of fun for me. Probably not for Dresden though, but you know he's no fun, he's such a wet blanket, he's always complaining."

Content: Evil Harry will Manifest


"Will evil Harry ever truly manifest? Well we'll get to see that yeah."
Best Blogger Tips

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Cover Reveal: The Heir by Kiera Cass!

We finally have a cover and a summary for the fourth book in Kiera Cass’s Selection Series!

the heir by kiera cass cover reveal selection series large hd
This book is set twenty years after The One, and will follow America’s daughter, Eadlyn. You can read the full summary on Goodreads.

The Heir will be released May 5th, 2015. I can’t wait!

Best Blogger Tips

My Favorite Fall Reads

I’ve read quite a few books so far this fall, most of them ranging from the fantasy, science fiction, and contemporary genres. I hope you enjoy this list of my top fall favorites!

First up is The Infinite Sea, the sequel to the bestselling post-apocalypse book The 5th Wave, which came out last year. In this sci-fi followup, more is revealed about the mysterious aliens known as the Others, and Rick Yancey’s gorgeous writing and intense action scenes don’t disappoint; however, I did think the first book was a bit better, because I thought the desperate “survival” feeling throughout the whole first book just wasn’t quite as strong in The Infinite Sea. It was still very enjoyable, though, and was over all a really awesome read.

Next on this list is a self-published contemporary standalone that was actually written by a friend of mine. The story mainly surrounds Adelaide and Nathan’s romance, which, I’m pleased to write, is very different from the way couples are portrayed in the average young adult book. There’s so much more to this than just a unique chick-lit, though: Adelaide has a haunted past she keeps secret, and she and Nathan both struggle with different traumas they’ve experienced. A Twist in the Story conveys humor and sorrow, and brilliantly balances out the contrast between the two.

I think Falling into Place ended up being the biggest surprise for me out of the books on this list. When I first heard about it, the idea didn’t sound too compelling: A depressed teenage girl tries to commit suicide, but fails, and ends up in critical condition in the hospital. I’m so glad I decided to give it a try, though, because it ended up being one of the most moving books I’ve read this year, and provided an extraordinarily realistic insight on the main subject of teen suicide.

In my opinion, The Young Elites topped Legend by Marie Lu (although, to be fair, I haven’t yet read her other books in the Legend Trilogy). I thought this book had more intricate characters, a cooler plot, and a much darker, but totally awesome, theme. The Young Elites was full of twists, and ultimately had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. I’m looking forward to reading more books from this series in the future!

Last, but not least, is the historical mystery debut, Jackaby. Oh, Jackaby—I seriously loved this book! The odd, dry humor had me cracking up way more than I expected, and the Sherlock Holmes-like plot was full of paranormal elements, which were both fascinating and surprisingly believable. Not to mention the quirky, bundles-of-fun characters. I highly recommend everyone pick up a copy of this charming book!

What are some books you’ve enjoyed reading this fall?

This post was created for a giveaway hosted by Beth Revis, the author of the Across the Universe Trilogy. For more information on the giveaway, read details about it here.

Best Blogger Tips

Monday, October 20, 2014

Book Review: Halt's Peril (Ranger's Apprentice, Book 9), By John Flanagan

Halt's Peril (Ranger's Apprentice, Book 9)
By: John Flanagan
Add to Goodreads

Hard on the heels of the Outsiders, Halt, Will and Horace find that their most lethal foe can not be fought will a blade or a bow.

Halt's Peril ends the adventure begun in The Kings of Clonmel, but is not the end of the Ranger's Apprentice series. Entertaining and at times very funny, this book is one of my favorites in the series. The story contains mildly descriptive injuries, but nothing more graphic than seen in earlier books.

Ranger's Apprentice Series

  • Book 1: The Ruins of Gorlan (Review)
  • Book 2: The Burning Bridge (Review)
  • Book 3: The Icebound Land (Review)
  • Book 4: The Battle for Skandia (Review)
  • Book 4.5: (officially book 7) Erak's Ransom (Review)
  • Book 5: The Sorcerer of the North (Review)
  • Book 6: The Siege of Macindaw (Review)
  • Book 7: (chronologically Book 4.5) Erak's Ransom (Review)
  • Book 8: The Kings of Clonmel (Review)
  • Book 9: Halt's Peril (Review)
  • Book 10: The Emperor of Nihon-Ja
  • Book 11: The Lost Stories
  • Book 12: The Royal Ranger
Best Blogger Tips

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Book Review: Spring's Gentle Promise (Seasons of the Heart, Book 4), By Janette Oke

Spring's Gentle Promise
By: Janette Oke

Joshua's life is full, with the responsibilities of manhood and a family that cares for him, but is there love in his future?

Spring's Gentle Promise brings an end to the Seasons of the Heart series. This story showcases the joys and hardships in life, with the faith and trust necessary to weather them. A clean read appropriate for all ages.
Best Blogger Tips

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Book Review: Falling into Place by Amy Zhang

falling into place by amy zhang ya young adult contemporary realistic fiction book cover large hd 2014
Falling into Place
By: Amy Zhang
AmyZhangWrites.com
ISBN-10: 0062295047
Add on Goodreads

Lonely, bulimic, depressed, alcohol and drug addicted Liz Emerson has had enough of her life, so one day she drives her car off an icy road in a failed suicide attempt, leaving her body in critical condition and her friends and family to worry about whether she will live through the night.


Falling into Place is told in out-of-order chapters that reflect on Liz’s life, giving us an inside look at her past thoughts and actions, and providing the readers with a better understanding of—but not romanticizing—teen suicide.


This is a smoothly-written young adult contemporary standalone. Parents should be aware that it contains the following:


• Teenagers taking drugs, drinking, and smoking

• A bulimic character
• References to sex
• Uses of crude sexual terms
• Reference to a character having had an abortion
• Profanity (including the f-word)
• Some medical-related violence (descriptions of blood)
• Name-calling (“lesbo,” “slut,” “skank,” etc.)
• Bullying
• Reference to a past rape
• Mentions of some characters being gay
• Mentions of breasts


You might also like The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton and:

 Book Review: The Truth About Alice

Best Blogger Tips

Sunday, October 5, 2014

Book Review: Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy, Book 6), By Richelle Mead

Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy, #6) By: Richelle Mead

Framed for murder and facing a trial where the verdict is already decided, Rose's life seems to be coming to a terrifyingly quick and pointless end. Then escape provided an alternative and Rose finds herself fighting for two things more important than her innocence – Truth and Love.

Last Sacrifice provides an exciting and satisfying ending to the Vampire Academy series and the story of Rose Hathaway. It contains making out, awareness of nudity, sex, killing, various law breaking, and limited profanity. Readers who have followed this series will find that the sexuality and violence in Last Sacrifice do not exceed that seen in prior books.

Haven't read any of the Vampire Academy books yet?
I recommend starting with Vampire Academy, Book 1

Read them all and still want more?
Check out Richelle Mead's series Bloodlines where the story continues!
Best Blogger Tips

Saturday, October 4, 2014

Cover Reveal: The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

We have a cover for the sequel to The Winner’s Curse, the second book in The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski, and I think it’s just as dazzling as the first one, and a whole lot more blue-tiful (sorry, I couldn’t resist!).

the winner's crime trilogy curse by marie rutkoski cover reveal large hd ya young adult fantasy romance
I absolutely love the way these covers are themed!

The Winner’s Crime will be released March 3, 2015. Having really enjoyed the first book, I can’t wait to get my hands on it!

Best Blogger Tips

Recent & Upcoming Releases on Amazon